Monday, October 08, 2007

Cheers, UAAP Season 70!

UE made history yesterday after losing to La Salle Green Archers in the UAAP Men's basketball championships at the Araneta Coliseum. After achieving a rare 14-0 sweep of the eliminations, they succumbed to the upbeat Archers, who struggled early in the league to get the Finals. Well at least, UE made history as the first team to sweep the eliminations and didn't win the championship.

Also, La Salle made the record of winning the championship after a one-year suspension. Last year, La Salle was suspended for "accidentally" fielding in ineligible players in the league. As a result, they were stripped off their 2005 championship, suspended for a year, and a dented image. But this time, they seemed to have put all the bad things behind and came back with a big, deafening roar, to beat the Warriors, 2-0 in their best of three championship series. Congrats, La Salle!

Until Season 71... Hopefully UP gets a win in our centennial year.

Season 70 Senior Men's Basketball Highlights:

Most Valuable Player - Jervy Cruz, UST
PSBank Maaasahan Player of the Year - Jervy Cruz, UST

Mythical Five:
Chris Tiu - ADMU
JVee Casio - DLSU

Rico Maerhoffer - DLSU
Mark Borboran - UE

Jervy Cruz - UST

Rookie of the Year:
JR Cawaling - FEU

KFC Assist Delivery Player of the Year: Japs Cuan - UST

SMART Defensive Player of the Year: Edwin Asoro - NU

No comments :